<
>

Champions League draw 2019: When and what time is the group-stage draw?

VALERY HACHE/AFP/Getty Images

There will be 32 teams in the hat for the UEFA Champions League group-stage draw.

When is the draw?

It takes place on Thursday, Aug. 29 in Monaco. The draw ceremony is expected to begin at noon ET / 4 p.m. GMT.

Who will be seeded?

Holders Liverpool will join Europa League winners Chelsea among the eight seeds, along with Barcelona (La Liga), Manchester City (Premier League), Juventus (Serie A), Bayern Munich (Bundesliga), Paris Saint-Germain (Ligue 1), Zenit Saint-Petersburg (Russian Premier).

Meanwhile, Pot 2 is guaranteed to include Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Tottenham Hotspur, Borussia Dortmund, Napoli, Shakhtar Donetsk and Benfica. Ajax will join them should they successfully navigate their way through qualifying.

Teams in Pots 3 and 4 are yet to be fully confirmed.

One team from each pot will be drawn into a group, making eight groups of four clubs.

When will the games be played?

Matchday 1: Sep. 17-18

Matchday 2: Oct. 1-2

Matchday 3: Oct. 22-23

Matchday 4: Nov. 5-6

Matchday 5: Nov. 26-27

Matchday 6: Dec. 10-11

What time will the games kick off?

Two games will begin at 4:55 p.m. GMT / 12:55 p.m. ET, with the remainder following at 7 p.m. GMT / 3 p.m. ET.

When will the fixtures be known?

UEFA will publish all group fixtures later in the day on Aug. 29.

When is the draw for the Round of 16?

It takes place on Dec. 16.

MORE:

UEFA Champions League home page